twofold Logo

Visit The IWC «Atelier»

IWC Schaffhausen

Zurich Flagship Store «Atelier»

Insight

Retail is moving in a new direction – away from pure sales and towards a world of experience. At the IWC Racing Works Boutique on Zurich’s Bahnhofstrasse, IWC invites customers to experience the brand in the «Atelier». With a fasci-nating array of interactive options, customers are, on the one hand, surprised and entertained, and on the other, they learn about the history and manufac-ture of IWC timepieces. The IWC Racing Works Boutique is the first in a series of themed flagship bou-tiques around the world.

Solution

The «Atelier» on the lower level of the boutique establishes an important link to the IWC watchmaking process. The centerpiece is the interactive Surveillance Wall, which can be explored via the Mission Control Panel. Here, visitors gain fascinating insights into the manufacturing process of IWC. In addition, a watchmaker on site can inspect the customer’s watch with the Cyberloupe, which projects the inner workings in real time onto the Surveillance Wall.

Solution

The «Atelier» on the lower level of the boutique establishes an important link to the IWC watchmaking process. The centerpiece is the interactive Surveil-lance Wall, which can be explored via the Mission Control Panel. Here, visitors gain fascinating insights into the manufacturing process of IWC. In addition, a watchmaker on site can inspect the customer’s watch with the Cyberloupe, which projects the inner workings in real time onto the Surveillance Wall.

Analysis

The target group often doesn’t really know how much work, craftsmanship and technology goes into every IWC. In 2018 with the opening of the IWC Manufakturzentrum, a 13,500 m² facility for case and movement production and assembly, IWC has set a milestone in Swiss watch production. Many customers are unaware of the IWC Manufakturzentrum and the numerous stages that each watch goes through in production.

Positioning

Over the past 150 years, IWC has made a name for itself worldwide with functional and user-friendly timepieces such as chronographs and calendars. With a clear, purist design language and continuous innovation, IWC develops timelessly beautiful icons. Watches from Schaffhausen are built to last for generations. IWC also trains the next generation of watchmakers in-house.
The target group comprises watch connoisseurs with discerning taste who are inspired by technical excellence and are non-conformists at heart. IWC differentiates itself through superior technical innovation and a confident brand character.

Strategy

The aim is to create a link from the Zurich boutique to the IWC Manufakturzentrum in Schaffhausen. In a playful, interactive way customers see how much craftsmanship goes into every IWC.

IWC’s positioning as a technical innovator must be experienced in the «Atelier». In addition, the various interactions and the specially designed elements must reflect the brand character and architectural standards of IWC.

Concept

The centerpiece of the «Atelier» is the Surveillance Wall: an invisible screen more than 2 meters big that is set into an elegant cabinet. At first glance inconspicuous, when activated this screen simultaneously shows surveillance camera footage from twelve different stations at the IWC Manufakturzentrum.

Using the Mission Control Panel, the various stages of production can be displayed in large-format images. This gives viewer the feeling of being in control at the production center and “supervising” the manufacturing process.

To further intensify the experience, a watchmaker is present in the studio, complete with a watchmaker’s desk. The watchmaker inspects the customer’s watch and movements using the Cyberloupe, which projects an image of the inner workings onto the screen landscape in real time.

Surveillance Wall

In collaboration with an Italian furniture manufacturer, we created the basic structure of the Surveillance Wall. Only materials that met the architectural stanards of the IWC brand were selected. The custom cabinet features the technical innovation of integrated Revox Invisible Speakers. A Swiss production company developed the U-profile construction to conceal the screen and the mount for the Mission Control Panel.

In parallel, with a camera team we produced the “surveillance footage” at the IWC Manufakturzentrum. More than 12 different stations of the production line were then tuned in post-production to give the look and feel of live surveillance.

To enable IWC to flexibly adapt the content, BrightSign Players are installed and connected to the CMS at IWC. This way, the footage of individual stations can be exchanged at any time.

Mission Control Panel

The Mission Control Panel was designed and constructed from the ground up for IWC. The powder-coated surface suits the design language of IWC. Each button is fitted with a light. Pressing the various buttons switches the surveillance stations. When selected, the station is shown full screen and the corresponding button lights up.

Thanks to Bluetooth, the portable Mission Control Panel can be used anywhere in the «Atelier». Visitors can sit at the table and navigate through the surveillance situations from there. The panel is equipped with an induction charging station, so that recharging begins as soon as it is placed back in the mount.

Cyberloupe Integration

The Cyberloupe is an IWC invention. This digital watchmaker’s loupe has a camera with a network connection that sends what the watchmaker sees in real time to a screen. This enables customers to observe the work performed inside a mechanical movement live and in detail.

By connecting the Cyberloupe with the Surveillance Wall, we transformed watch servicing into a unique live experience for IWC customers. In the future, it will also be possible to transmit the watchmaker’s service work to customers at home.

At the heart
Connected to IWC

Client

IWC Schaffhausen

Sector

Luxury industry

Discipline

Experience Design
Brand Display
Strategy Physical
Moving Image
Web
Strategy Digital
AR / VR

Project team

Noé Robert
Marius Deflorin
Lukas Rosenmund
Charlotte Dupont
Nils Rekow
Nicholas Bretscher

twofold Logo

Zu Besuch
im «IWC Atelier»

IWC Schaffhausen

Zurich Flagship Store «Atelier»

Insight

Retail bewegt sich in eine neue Richtung – weg von der reinen Verkaufsfläche hin zur Erlebniswelt. In der IWC Racing Works Boutique an der Zürcher Bahnhofstrasse lädt IWC Kund*innen in einem faszinierenden «Atelier» mit verschiedensten Interaktionsmöglichkeiten zum vielfältigen Erleben der Marke ein. Kund* innen sollen einerseits überrascht und unterhalten werden, andererseits erfahren sie mehr über Geschichte und Herstellung der Uhren. Die IWC Racing Works Boutique ist die erste in einer Reihe von thematischen Flagship-Boutiquen auf der ganzen Welt.

Solution

Das «Atelier» im unteren Teil der Boutique bildet einen wichtigen Link zur Manufaktur und somit zum Herstellungsprozess der IWC Uhren. Das Herzstück ist eine interaktive Wand, die sogenannte «Surveillance Wall», die sich über die Steuerungsplattform «Mission Control Panel» erkunden lässt. Hier eröffnen sich den Besucher*innen faszinierende Einblicke in den Herstellungsprozess einer IWC. Zudem kann ein Uhrmacher vor Ort mit einer «Cyberloupe» die Uhren von Kund*innen inspizieren und ihr Innenleben direkt auf die Surveillance Wall projezieren.

Solution

Das «Atelier» im unteren Teil der Boutique bildet einen wichtigen Link zur Manufaktur und somit zum Herstellungsprozess der IWC Uhren. Das Herzstück ist eine interaktive Wand, die sogenannte «Surveillance Wall», die sich über die Steuerungsplattform «Mission Control Panel» erkunden lässt. Hier eröffnen sich den Besucher*innen faszinierende Einblicke in den Herstellungsprozess einer IWC. Zudem kann ein Uhrmacher vor Ort mit einer «Cyberloupe» die Uhren von Kund*innen inspizieren und ihr Innenleben direkt auf die Surveillance Wall projezieren.

Analyse

Die Zielgruppe weiss oft gar nicht, wie viel Arbeit, Handwerkskunst und Technologie in jeder IWC steckt. Mit dem 2018 eröffneten Manufakturzentrum, einem Werk mit einer Fläche von 13.500 m² für die Gehäuse- und Uhrwerkproduktion sowie der Uhrwerkmontage hat IWC einen Meilenstein in der Schweizer Uhrenproduktion gesetzt. Viele Kunden kennen jedoch weder das Manufakturzentrum noch die Vielzahl an Produktionsetappen, die jede Uhr durchläuft.

Positionierung

In den vergangenen über 150 Jahren hat sich IWC mit funktionalen und benutzerfreundlichen Komplikationen wie Chronographen und Kalendern weltweit einen Namen gemacht. Mit einer klaren, puristischen Designsprache und kontinuierlicher Innovationskraft entwickelt IWC zeitlos schöne Ikonen. Uhren aus Schaffhausen sind gebaut, um Generationen zu überdauern. IWC bildet auch die nächste Generation von Uhrmachern selber aus.
Zielgruppe sind Uhrenkenner*innen mit anspruchsvollem Geschmack, die sich durch technische Exzellenz inspirieren lassen und im Herzen Nonkonformisten sind. IWC differenziert sich durch überlegene technische Innovation und einen souveränen Markencharakter.

Strategie

Ziel war es deshalb, im Store auf eine spielerische, interaktive Weise einen Link zum Manufakturzentrum zu schaffen und den Kund*innen so zu zeigen, wie viel (Hand)Arbeit in jeder IWC steckt.

Die Positionierung als technischer Innovator muss auf der «Atelier»-Fläche erlebbar werden. Zudem müssen die verschiedenen Interaktionen und die speziell dafür konzipierten Elemente den Markencharakter von IWC und somit die Brand Architecture widerspiegeln.

Konzeption

Das Herzstück des Ateliers ist die «Surveillance Wall»: In einem auf den ersten Blick unscheinbaren Regal ist ein über 2 m grosser Screen unsichtbar verbaut. Auf diesem werden zwölf verschiedene Stationen aus dem Manufakturzentrum aus der Perspektive einer Überwachungskamera dargestellt.

Via «Mission Control Panel» lassen sich die verschiedenen Stationen der Fertigung im Grossbildformat anzeigen. Der Betrachter wird quasi zum «Überwacher» der Manufaktur und hat das Gefühl, live bei der Uhrenproduktion dabei zu sein.

Um die Experience weiter zu intensivieren, ist ein Uhrmacher samt Uhrmacherpult im Atelier präsent. Dieser kann Uhren und Uhrwerke von Kund*innen mit Hilfe der Cyberloupe inspizieren und das Bild des Innenlebens auf die Screenlandschaft projizieren.

Surveillance Wall

In Zusammenarbeit mit einem italienischen Möbelhersteller kreierten wir die Grundkonstruktion der «Surveillance Wall». Dabei galt es, die Materialisierung auf die Brand Architecture abzustimmen. Bereits der Grundbau bietet mit integrierten «Revox Invisible Speakers» viel technische Innovation. Eine Schweizer Produktionsfirma entwickelte die U-Profil-Konstruktion zum Verbergen des Screens sowie die Halterung für das «Mission Control Panel».

Parallel dazu haben wir mit einem Kamerateam die «Überwachungsaufnahmen» im Manufakturzentrum produziert. Die über 12 verschiedenen Stationen der Produktionslinie wurden dann in der Postproduktion auf das Look & Feel einer Überwachungskamera getunt.

Damit IWC den Content flexibel anpassen kann, sind zusätzlich BrightSign Player verbaut und mit dem CMS von IWC verbunden. So lassen sich die einzelnen Stationen jederzeit austauschen.

Mission Control Panel

Das Mission Control Panel wurde von Grund auf für IWC konzipiert und konstruiert. Mit einer pulverbeschichteten Oberfläche nimmt es die Markensprache von IWC auf. Jeder einzelne Knopf ist mit Licht ausgestattet. Wird beim Wechsel zwischen den Situationen ein Knopf gedrückt, leuchtet die Nummer der aktuell im Vollbild gezeigten Situation.

Dank Bluetooth lässt sich das Panel flexibel im ganzen Atelier einsetzen. Besucher können sich damit auch an den Tisch setzen und von dort durch die Überwachungssituationen navigieren. Das Panel ist mit einer Induktionsladestation ausgestattet und wird geladen, sobald es wieder in der Halterung ist.

Cyberloupe Integration

Die sogenannte Cyberloupe ist eine Entwicklung von IWC. Diese Uhrmacherlupe verfügt über eine Kamera sowie eine Netzwerkverbindung und sendet die Sicht des Uhrmachers in Echtzeit an einen Bildschirm. So können Kund*innen die Arbeiten im Inneren eines mechanischen Uhrwerks live und im Detail mitverfolgen.

Durch die Verbindung der Cyberloupe mit der «Surveillance Wall» entsteht eine einzigartige Live-Experience eines Uhrenservices. Künftig wird es zudem möglich sein, die Sicht des Uhrmachers auch an Kund*innen Zuhause zu übertragen.

Mit dem Herzen
von IWC verbunden

Client

IWC Schaffhausen

Sector

Luxury industry

Discipline

Experience Design
Brand Display
Strategy Physical
Moving Image
Web
Strategy Digital
AR / VR

Project team

Noé Robert
Marius Deflorin
Lukas Rosenmund
Charlotte Dupont
Nils Rekow
Nicholas Bretscher