twofold Logo

A peek inside the train
cockpit of tomorrow

Rail Systems Engineering Group

Trains of the future

Insight

The introduction of new passenger trains is associated with long development times and high costs. Once the trains are on the rails, they must ensure a correspondingly long service life.

At the same time, trains are undergoing enormous transformation towards automation and autonomy. Especially in markets such as Asia or in less economically robust regions, a reliable solution is needed to adapt existing trains to this evolution and thus extend their operational life.

So how do you connect existing and older train models with the technical requirements of the future?

Solution

Rail System Engineering Group, based in Malaysia and Zurich, has developed a “tune for progress” soft- and hardware solution for both current and older train models.

The software enables train conductors to control all cockpit functions for the driver assistance system on a single display. In addition, the route the train covers can be integrated – making autonomous driving possible. 

For Rail System Engineering we realized a unique interface design and implemented it into their software using ASP.NET and C#.

Solution

Rail System Engineering Group, based in Malaysia and Zurich, has developed a “tune for progress” software solution for both current and older train models.

The software enables train conductors to control all analog functions of the cockpit via a single display. In addition, the route the train covers can be integrated – making autonomous driving possible. 

For Rail System Engineering we realized a unique interface design and implemented it into their software using ASP.NET and C#.

Analysis

The world of train travel is complex. Uniform global standards, e.g. regarding the colors in cockpits, provide orientation with this world. These standards must also be applied to the “digitalized cockpit” so that the user experience for the conductor is as simple as possible. The influence of lighting conditions, weather and speed on the interface design must be considered as well. 

Concept

The interface is designed on a basic grid on which all status messages and control functions can be displayed. For the interface, we transformed all required control elements from the train cockpit, e.g. buttons, controls, etc., to a digital level. The individually created buttons and input areas can be used, among other things, to control doors, set maximum speeds, define the length of the train, view navigation information or determine departure times.

Realization

After the development of the basic grid, in a first realization phase, we finalized all display options of the software, defined the active and passive status of all buttons, and created an extensive palette of symbols and icons.

In the second phase, we designed the interface elements with ASP.NET and C# and integrated them into Rail System Engineering’s software.

Font
Buttons
Client

Rail Systems Engineering Group
Malaysia and Switzerland

Sector

Train Technology Sector

Discipline

Experience Design
Web
Activation
Product Launch

Project team

Noé Robert
Lukas Rosenmund
Nils Rekow
Nicholas Bretscher

twofold Logo

Ein Blick ins Zugcockpit
von morgen.

Rail Systems Engineering Group

Trains of the future

Insight

Die Einführung neuer Personenzüge ist mit langen Entwicklungszeiten und hohen Kosten verbunden. Sobald die Züge auf den Schienen sind, müssen sie entsprechend langjährige Betriebszeiten gewährleisten.

Parallel dazu findet bei Zügen eine enorme Entwicklung in Richtung Automatisierung bis hin zur Autonomie statt. Gerade in Märkten wie Asien oder in ökonomisch weniger starken Regionen braucht es eine zuverlässige Lösung, um bestehende Züge dieser Entwicklung anzupassen und damit ihre Betriebszeiten zu verlängern.

Wie verbindet man also bestehende und ältere Zugmodelle mit den technischen Anforderungen der Zukunft?

Solution

Die Rail System Engineering Group mit Sitz in Malaysia und Zürich hat eine Softwarelösung entwickelt, die aktuelle und ältere Zugmodelle «auf Fortschritt einstellen» kann.

Die Software ermöglicht es den Zugführer*innen, sämtliche analoge Funktionen des Cockpits über ein einziges Display zu steuern. Zudem lässt sich die Strecke, die der Zug zurücklegen muss, einbinden – so wird autonomes Fahren möglich. 

Für Rail System Engineering haben wir ein einzigartiges Interfacedesign realisiert und mit ASP.NET und C# in ihre Software implementiert.

Solution

Die Rail System Engineering Group mit Sitz in Malaysia und Zürich hat eine Softwarelösung entwickelt, die aktuelle und ältere Zugmodelle «auf Fortschritt einstellen» kann.

Die Software ermöglicht es den Zugführer*innen, sämtliche analoge Funktionen des Cockpits über ein einziges Display zu steuern. Zudem lässt sich die Strecke, die der Zug zurücklegen muss, einbinden – so wird autonomes Fahren möglich. 

Für Rail System Engineering haben wir ein einzigartiges Interfacedesign realisiert und mit ASP.NET und C# in ihre Software implementiert.

Analyse

Die Welt der Zugfahrt ist komplex. Weltweit einheitliche Standards, z. B. was die Farben in Cockpits betrifft, sorgen in dieser Welt für Orientierung. Diese Standards müssen auch im «digitalisierten Cockpit» wiederzufinden sein, damit die User Experience für die Zugführer so einfach wie möglich ist. Zudem gilt es, den Einfluss der Lichtverhältnisse, Witterung und Geschwindigkeit auf das Interfacedesign zu berücksichtigen. 

Konzeption

Das Interface Design basiert auf einem Grundraster, auf dem sich sämtliche Statusmeldungen und Steuerfunktionen darstellen lassen. Für das Interface haben wir alle analogen Bedienelemente aus dem Zug-Cockpit (z. B. Knöpfe, Regler etc.) auf eine digitale Ebene transformiert. Über die individuell erstellten Buttons und Eingabeflächen lassen sich unter anderem Türen steuern, Höchstgeschwindigkeiten festlegen, die Länge des Zugs definieren, Navigationsinformationen einsehen oder Abfahrtszeiten bestimmen.

Realisierung

Nach der Entwicklung des Grundrasters haben wir in der ersten Realisierungsphase sämtliche Anzeigemöglichkeiten der Software final gestaltet, dabei den Aktiv- und Passiv-Status aller Buttons definiert sowie eine breite Symbol- und Icon-Palette realisiert.

In der zweiten Phase haben wir die gestalteten Interface-Elemente mit ASP.NET und C# in die Software von Rail System Engineering integriert.

Font
Buttons
Client

Rail Systems Engineering Group
Malaysia and Switzerland

Sector

Train Technology Sector

Discipline

Experience Design
Web
Activation
Product Launch

Project team

Noé Robert
Lukas Rosenmund
Nils Rekow
Nicholas Bretscher